The Périgueux Family

Secret Thunder

Forced to wed a notoriously brutal Norman knight after her Saxon husband falls at Hastings, Faithe of Hauekleah vows that the enemy invader will never have her heart. But she hasn’t counted on her riot of conflicting emotions when Luke de Perigueux, the infamous “Black Dragon,” takes her in his arms. Not only does he have a reputation for savage fury on the battlefield–fury he unleashed against her own people not long ago–but it soon becomes apparent that her lord husband is hiding a dark and terrible secret.  

The paperback edition of Secret Thunder made the Ingrams A-List of Top 50 Requested Titles for three weeks.

Read an Excerpt

Raves

“A marvelous love story from the queen of medieval romance. I will buy anything she writes! Once again Patricia Ryan dazzles us with her amazing storytelling abilities. This is as good as it gets. If you only read one historical romance this year, it should be Secret Thunder!”

– The Literary Times

“Patricia Ryan continues to create superb medieval romances that capture the atmosphere and tenor of the time. Ms. Ryan breathes freshness into every page and enthralls readers with the power of her characters’ emotions and their intelligent handling of the complex situations. She is a wonderful writer whose talent continues to enchant readers.”

– RT BookReviews

“Secret Thunder is a superb medieval romance that is so well written it will not remain a secret amongst the genre’s fans for very long. Patricia Ryan brings startling freshness to this historical period.”

– Affaire de Coeur

“Ms. Ryan has penned a totally absorbing tale with complicated situations and complex, compelling characters. The poignant relationship between Faithe and Luke is achingly beautiful, as a woman’s love redeems a tortured man. I loved everything about this book–it’s full-bodied, like vintage wine. Brava, Ms. Ryan. It’s the best book yet!!”

– The Old Book Barn Gazette

“Patricia Ryan is a master, blending rich historical detail and poignant emotions, making the era come alive in an honest, seamless story. Brilliant!”

– RomEx Review


Wild Wind

Alex was left deeply scarred when his beloved Nicolette married his cousin Milo solely in order to bear the son who would fulfill the terms of her inheritance. Now, nine years later, Nicolette is still childless and Milo debilitated by wine sickness. Explaining that he and Nicolette will be homeless and destitute if she doesn’t produce an heir within fifteen months, Milo begs Alex to seduce his wife, sire a child, then disappear. It is an indecent but irresistible proposal, sweeping Alex and Nicolette into a firestorm of forbidden desire. 

Wild Wind was a Waldenbooks “Star Pick” and was nominated by Romantic Times for Best Medieval Historical Romance.

Read an Excerpt

Raves

“Wild Wind sweeps the reader into the past and holds her there, entangled in lost innocence and forbidden desires, in everlasting love that a man has vowed to deny. It’s wonderful. Don’t miss it!”

– New York Times bestselling author Jo Beverley

“This is a powerful, absorbing story readers will cherish. Ms. Ryan earns a place of honor on medieval romance readers’ shelves with this masterful tale that brings an era, a people and a brilliant love story to life. Fans of Anita Mills, Denise Domning, Roberta Gellis and Sharon Kay Penman, rejoice, here’s another star!”

– RT BookReviews

“A definite must read for fans of medieval romance! Few authors can bring the past to life as vividly as Patricia Ryan. Wild Wind is a wildly romantic love story from an incredibly gifted author! Patricia Ryan’s writing sparkles!”

– The Literary Times

“Explosive and spellbinding. Ms. Ryan once more deftly develops unique and unusual plot elements in this finely crafted tale of bittersweet love. The incredible insight utilized in her prose has the reader feeling the frustrations all the characters experience as they try to resolve situations and come to terms with the inevitable. This poignant and thought-provoking medieval is remarkable and unforgettable.”

– The Old Book Barn Gazette

“This is one of the most finely crafted medievals of recent years. Wild Wind was a blockbuster from the first page. I quite literally could not put this book down, and was very surprised by the ending.”

– Romance Communications

“Compelling and romantic, gritty and realistic….Wild Wind may be the first Patricia Ryan book I’ve read, but it won’t be the last.”

– The Romance Reader

“Last year, when I finished Patricia Ryan’s medieval Secret Thunder, I ran out to all of my local used book stores to track down her back list, only to be told time and again that her books are loved so much they are never returned! After my experience with Secret Thunder, and now her newest, Wild Wind, I can certainly understand why. She writes powerful, gritty, emotional books that are hard to put down and she consistently delivers a strong romance between likable characters.”

– Under the Covers

“Ryan has written a sensual, emotionally involving, and compelling story of forbidden love that readers will not soon forget.”

– Library Journal